Let’s get to work

Posted on December 14, 2015

0


At 10:37 p.m. CST,  on December 12, 2015, I wrote The End on my rough draft.

I thought I would be happier.

This was a big goddamn thing for me.  I did more words in six weeks than I have, ever, in that timeframe.  It was probably more than I typically write in a year.  I worked out a lot of process issues and found a workflow and pace that allowed me to be productive and still not entirely alienate my family.

And, in my opinion, it’s good.  I know where the rough spots are and I’ll be taking the belt sander to them but the vast majority of it is very good to almost excellent.  As a whole I’m happy with the story.

So why wasn’t I thrilled the other night?

The spouse was.  When I walked out of the bedroom and said it’s done there was genuine joy.

But it’s not, is it?  Not really.  It’s one thing if the goal is just to spit out a coherent story with a bunch of words.  I’ve done that.  It’s not good enough.  I’ve invested too much time and too much effort to call it good.

And that’s the thing.  This was a big goddamned thing and it’s just a step.  There’s a whole series of big goddamned things to get done in order.  And each one will make the previous one seem small until, hopefully, I’m standing on a pile of vanquished big goddamned things holding a chainsaw and laughing without any idea how I got there.

That is all.

Posted in: Me, Writing