Next Steps

Posted on October 5, 2016

0


While I wait for the massive wave of form rejections I’m trying to decide what to work on next.

Right now, at this point in space-time, I’m studying two hours a night for server certifications. I want into a role at work that will allow me to interact less with clients. Make me an engineer or something engineer adjacent. There is an exception to that on the weekend. 1 day off. No studying, working, or writing. The other day on the weekend is 2 to 4 hours working on canoe/paddle building, then back to studying and writing.

I’m sure my family remembers what I look like.

Beta readers are a trick I haven’t mastered yet. As in, getting beta readers to beta read. People keep comparing me to other authors and I’m flattered but they still don’t finish. Maybe because it’s not in book format yet. Maybe they just don’t finish books. Maybe it’s because I asked them to do homework.

Regardless, I can squeeze at least one more hour into my nights during the week and 3 or 4 during the weekend. The next book beckons. But I don’t know what I want to do. Actually, I do know what I want to do. But there are two things I want to do.

The first is the next book in what I hope will be the trilogy I started with Follow into the Dark. The other is a medium hardness scifi that I laid the basis for a few posts down.

As I am supremely  confident in my staggering brilliance obviously someone will represent me and obviously someone will buy my book. It only makes sense to begin the second and have a jumpstart on the process.

Then reality crashes in and I am left facing the fact that it’s FSM damned hard to get into the writing business and there are no guarantees. I’m also left with the fact that people keep telling me what they’ve read is excellent and they want to read more but never finish. If I can’t or don’t sell  the first book, should I write the second?

I truly have no idea what to do next. All I know is I need to start something. Whether it’s intrigue and betrayal in the afterlife or mammoth beings crushing planets beneath their stride is the tricky part.

That is all.

 

 

Posted in: Me, Writing