Nano-ing

Posted on November 2, 2016

0


Joy.

It’s November.

And NANOWRIMO rises to loom over my Twitter feed once again.

Last year was the first year I did anything worthwhile in Nano. I wrote a touch over 51000 words then kept going because it was the middle 51000 words. There were 25000 left. Then I edited. And edited. And edited. Now I’m querying, and querying, and querying. Speaking of, I’m 10% of the way to my rejection goal.

I like the idea of Nano and last year I loved the execution of Nano. I’m happy when I’m putting words on the screen. Even when it’s grinding and horrible I’m happy when I’m putting words on the screen. Writing allows me to combine an act of creation with what is so often an act of destruction.

Last year worked because I could carve out two or three or four or six hours after the spawn were in bed. I would love to do that. But I can’t afford to sacrifice the brain space this year. I’m already burning two hours every night studying. And that I can’t push off to after bed time. I have to force myself awake for some of it as is.

So this Nano is lunch hour Nano. 45 to 60 minutes. And it’s fine. This is fine. It means between 15000 and 30000 words this month. I can deal with that. I’m not getting paid, yet. I have to focus on the avenues that lead to putting food on the table now, not in some hazy future.

Adulting sucks. Usually the trade off is worth it. And this falls under usually. Age may actually bring wisdom.

Weird.

My Nano name is ronin6433 if anyone cares to writer buddy me. You probably don’t. If you are doing Nano this month, good luck. Don’t sweat the goal. Just write. If you aren’t doing Nano this month good luck as well. I don’t know for what, but that’s not important.

That is all.

 

 

Tagged:
Posted in: Writing